Governor Declares Flooding Disaster For 11 IN Counties

Governor Eric Holcomb has issued a disaster emergency for 11 Indiana counties hit by widespread flooding caused by heavy rainfall.

The governor signed an executive order to include Carroll, Dearborn, Elkhart, Fulton, Lake, Marshall, Perry, St. Joseph, Starke, Switzerland and White counties. The emergency declaration could be expanded to include other counties in next few days because of heavy weekend rain  in southern Indiana.

The disaster declaration means the state Department of Homeland Security can take action to provide expanded emergency services and is a step the state must take before it can seek federal disaster help.