Open Modal
On Air
01:00 AM - 06:00 AM

Ball State to honor Indiana Women of Achievement on March 25

Ball State University will honor six leaders as Indiana Women of Achievement on Wednesday, March 25, with a panel presentation and dinner.

Recognized for their excellence in education, research, and women’s advocacy, these women have enhanced the lives and learning experiences of many and continue to inspire through their admirable work.

A panel discussion, “Empowering Women: A Conversation with Indiana Women of Achievement,” will be held at 3 p.m. in L.A. Pittenger Student Center, Room 301. The panel, moderated by College of Communication, Information, and Media Dean Paaige Turner, will feature recipients of the Indiana Women of Achievement awards.

That evening, the award recipients will be recognized during a reception at 6 p.m., followed by the 19th annual awards dinner at 6:30 p.m. in the Ball State Alumni Center, 2800 West Bethel Avenue. Reservations are due March 18, and the cost per person is $30.

For more information, contact the Office of the President at 765-285-5555.

The Indiana Women of Achievement Award recipients are:

Mrs. Jennifer Blackmer, Distinction in American Playwriting and Screenwriting. A nationally renowned play and screenwriter, Mrs. Blackmer has earned various awards for her work and was named an Emerging American Playwright in 2015 by the PEN/Laura Pels International Foundation for Theatre Awards. She also spearheads Ball State’s immersive learning as executive director and mentors students through their own playwriting projects.

Ms. Sandra Chapman, ’86, Distinction in Investigative Reporting that Generates Public Policy Change. Ms. Chapman’s outstanding investigative reporting at WTHR has effected change in Indiana’s Sex Offender Registry, the Bureau of Motor Vehicles, the Indiana Department of Environmental Management, and the 1968 Carol Jenkins murder case. Her many awards include the American Women in Radio Award, Television Gracie Allen Award, and a regional Emmy.

Ms. Kathleen DeLaney, Distinction in Legal Innovation and Litigation Success. Ms. DeLaney has successfully represented underdogs in legal cases, winning cases for a cancer patient, fired teachers, families who lost their loved ones, victims of discrimination and harassment, and others. She was named the 2020 “Lawyer of the Year” in Indianapolis by The Best Lawyers and was a Top 50 Indiana Super Lawyer and Top 25 Female Indiana Super Lawyer for 2019.

Dr. Eileen Danaher Hacker, Distinction in Oncology Nursing Research Resulting in the Improvement of Patient Quality of Life. Ms. Hacker is a committed cancer nurse of 35 years, tenured professor and department chair for the School of Nursing Care at Indiana University. Her innovative research has greatly impacted the cancer treatment field, and earned her the Symptom Science Research Interest Group Distinguished Researcher Award by the Midwest Nursing Research Society in 2019.

Ms. Jennifer Marsh, ’94, Distinction in Community Fundraising and Nonprofit Leadership. As president and CEO of the United Way of Delaware, Henry & Randolph Counties, Ms. Marsh has expanded the agency to serve three counties and has significantly increased campaign donations and grant funding. Her dynamic leadership earned the organization the 2018 Spirit of Education Award from the Muncie/Delaware County Chamber of Commerce and recognition from the United Way Worldwide. Ms. Marsh holds the Vivian Z. Conley Award for outstanding contributions to the community.

Ms. Kelly Shrock, ’89, Distinction in Community Fundraising and Nonprofit Leadership. Ms. Shrock, the president and CEO of the Community Foundation of Muncie and Delaware County, has garnered more than $60 million in the foundation’s endowment. Before her leadership at the foundation, she served at Ball State University where she successfully solicited major multi-million-dollar gifts that elevated two of the University’s academic colleges.

Related Posts